Open CTA Modal
Skip to main content

Entry requirements & your choices

The Bedford Sixth Form Grand Hall

Typically you study here for two years:

  • In your first year you have the opportunity to take a combination of A-Levels, or an Extended Diploma with one A-Level.
  • If you choose to study A-Levels you may sit one or more AS exams at the end of your first year. This depends both on your performance and whether or not AS exams are available in the subjects you have chosen.
  • Typically you will complete three A-Level subjects or the Extended Diploma plus one A-Level over the two years. Some students will complete four A-Level subjects. Whether you can start with three or four A-Levels will depend on your GCSE results, as explained below.
Photography A-Level at The Bedford Sixth Form 2021

Entry requirements

All students must meet the minimum entry requirements which are:

  • At least five GCSEs at grade 4 or above (one Vocational or Technical qualification at Merit or above may be counted), two of which must be GCSE English Language and Maths grade 4
  • At least grade 4 (or Merit for Vocational or Technical qualifications) in any subject(s) that you have taken at GCSE and wish to continue studying at A-Level.
  • In addition, some subjects have special entry requirements which you need to meet in addition to the above. For the most up-to-date information on subject specific requirements please see below.

If you wish to start with four A-Levels, rather than three, then the following entry requirements apply:

• At least 8 GCSEs at grades 9-6, including English Language and Maths, and at least four GCSEs at grades 9-7. Students who meet these higher requirements may be eligible for our Academic Excellence Bursary​

Subject specific entry requirements

In addition, there are special entry requirements for certain subjects.

New GCSE grades

The new GCSEs were awarded in August 2018 using a new grading system. The new GCSEs are graded 9–1, rather than A*–G, with grade 9 being the highest and set above the old A*. Grade 4 is broadly equivalent to the old grade C.

Old GCSE Grading structure New GCSE Grading structure
A* 9
A* 8
A 7
B 6
C 5
C 4
D 3
E 2
F 1