Open CTA Modal
Skip to main content

Build your programme

Film Studies at The Bedford Sixth Form 2021

All students at the Bedford Sixth form take either 3 A-Levels or a Diploma subject with 1 A-Level as part of their programme.

You can pick and choose from our wide range of A-Levels and diplomas to ensure you achieve the best qualifications to progress on to university or work. You will also take part in tutorials, work experience and enhancement (see Student Life and Student Support).


A-Levels are academic, examination-based qualifications recognised as traditional qualifications to gain entry to university and higher education. A-Levels focus mainly on academic subjects and qualify for UCAS points (maximum 56 UCAS points per A-Level).

Diplomas courses

Diplomas are equivalent to A-Levels but are assessed via a combination of coursework and exams. Diplomas enable you to progress on to university, higher apprenticeships or employment. It is possible to earn 112 UCAS points from our Cambridge Technical Diplomas and 112 from our BTEC National Diploma. Diplomas enable you to progress on to university, higher apprenticeships or into employment the same as our A-Level programmes do.

Photography A-Level at The Bedford Sixth Form 2021

Entry requirements

All students must meet the minimum entry requirements which are:

  • At least five GCSEs at grade 4 or above (one Vocational or Technical qualification at Merit or above may be counted), two of which must be GCSE English Language and Maths grade 4
  • At least grade 4 (or Merit for Vocational or Technical qualifications) in any subject(s) that you have taken at GCSE and wish to continue studying at A-Level.
  • In addition, some subjects have special entry requirements which you need to meet in addition to the above. For the most up-to-date information on subject specific requirements please see below.

If you wish to start with four A-Levels, rather than three, then the following entry requirements apply:

• At least 8 GCSEs at grades 9-6, including English Language and Maths, and at least four GCSEs at grades 9-7. Students who meet these higher requirements may be eligible for our Academic Excellence Bursary​

Subject specific entry requirements

In addition, there are special entry requirements for certain subjects.